The Carolus Magnus Summer School is devoted to the theoretical and experimental aspects of high temperature plasmas confined in toroidal magnetic fields. The school has a focus on the physics of energy production using controlled nuclear fusion. Here, special emphasis is laid on tokamaks, but stellarators are also discussed. The School covers a broad area of Go-Symbol topics.

The Laboratory for Plasma Physics of the ERM/KMS Brussels and the Belgian Nuclear Research Centre SCK•CEN at Mol, the Institute for Energy and Climate Research - Plasma Physics at Research Centre Jülich, and the FOM Institute DIFFER in Nieuwegein are associated in the "Trilateral Euregio Cluster" (TEC), which is responsible for the organisation of the Carolus Magnus Summer Schools. The School takes place every two years, usually in the month of September. The 12th edition is hosted by the KU Leuven and is co-organised by the Centre for mathematical Plasma-Astrophysics.

Most lectures are given by senior physicists from the TEC Institutes and by academic staff from the nearby universities of North Rhine-Westphalia, Belgium and the Netherlands. Usually, some lectures are also delivered by experts from other laboratories associated in the European fusion research programme and from ITER. Finally, the summer school programme also contains two evening lectures on special subjects.

The Carolus Magnus Summer School is primarily intended for Ph.D students as well as for undergraduate students who will become Ph.D students after the present academic year. Experienced scientists who, coming from other disciplines, recently entered the fields of plasma physics or nuclear fusion will also benefit from the school that will provide an overview of the various interconnected research domains. The Carolus Magnus Summer School does not only teach fusion basics, it also describes the latest developments on the way to the fusion power plant.



Trilateral Euregio Cluster (TEC)

c/o Laboratory for Plasma Physics
30, Avenue de la Renaissance
1000 Brussels

Fax +32 2 735 24 21

Scientific Secretary
Dr. Kristel Crombé
Tel. +32 2 742 65 89

Chairman TEC
Dr. Dirk Van Eester
Tel. +32 2 742 65 87

Local Chairman KU Leuven
Prof. Stefaan Poedts
Tel. +32 16 32 70 23

This web site uses
XHTML 1.0 transitional and CSS 2

Web Design by RPS